Our night in with Jack Daniels and Eisberg (Review)

photo 3 (37)

I love the weekends as its a chance to relax at home with the husband and kids. I am really lucky as hubby loves to cook, and he takes over the kitchen on a Saturday and Sunday. Quite often we will have a ‘night in’. He will cook a lovely meal complete with wine, candles and music playing. Whilst the kids argue play quietly upstairs.

So when I was asked to review a Jack Daniels sauce plus a bottle of Eisberg alcohol free wine, I thought these would be the perfect ingredients for our next ‘night in’. Now Jack Daniels has been my favourite drink for about 20 years, but funnily enough, up until last week, I had never eaten it. We had visited TGI Fridays where there are ALOT of dishes that contain Jack Daniels glaze. My starter and main course were both glazed with Jack Daniels sauce, so I had really high hopes for the Honey Barbecue one we were sent.

Jack Daniels Honey Barbecue Glaze Sauce

Jack Daniels Honey Barbecue Glaze Sauce

Hubby decided to do a chicken dish, with home made chips, garlic bread and corn on the cob. He usually coats the chicken in a chilli and soy sauce, so I was eager to see how the glaze would compare. He poured the sauce in a bowl and gave the chicken pieces a good coating, and baked in the oven for 30 minutes. I have to say the chicken tasted amazing. The sauce was sweet from the honey, and also had depth thanks to the barbecue flavouring. I would definitely use the sauce in cooking again, and am thinking of glazing home made burgers next time we have a BBQ. The sauce comes in a range of flavours and are currently £2.00 in Sainsburys.

Glazing the chicken

Glazing the chicken

Dinner is served

Dinner is served

Now we would usually have a bottle of wine for a ‘night in’. However, after our recent all inclusive holiday to Majorca we were trying to cut down on drinking at home. So the Eisberg alcohol free wine seemed like the perfect compromise. There are many alcohol free wines on the market, but I really liked the packaging of the wine (partly because it looked like the real deal). In fact it is made from quality wine with the alcohol removed. Sounds a win win.  All the flavour and taste without the hangover.

Eisberg Alcohol Free Wine

Eisberg Alcohol Free Wine

It also has a very tiny 33 calories in a small glass, compared to around 85 calories for a glass with alcohol in. So you can enjoy a few glasses without worrying about the calorie content (surely that means you can have a dessert). We shared the bottle between us, and I must say I really enjoyed it. The wine had a slight fizz to it, and I must say it was just like drinking wine with alcohol in. Now I must point out that I am no wine expert, and my limit for a bottle of wine is around £6.00, but I really couldn’t tell the difference. It was light and refreshing and went really well with our meal. My best friend is currently giving up alcohol during 2015, so I think a bottle of this would make a great present. Its currently priced at £2.75 in Morrisons.

photo 4 (30)

I was sent a bottle of Jack Daniels Sauce and Eisberg Alcohol Free Wine for the purpose of this review. All words and comments are my own.

I am linking this post up with the lovely ladies from @familyfever and @lollinski for Tried and Tested

Tried and Tested

6 thoughts on “Our night in with Jack Daniels and Eisberg (Review)

  1. I don’t drink alcohol primarily because I don’t like the taste of alcohol. Eisberg must be good because I don’t like it! I can confirm the red is excellent in a slow cooker beef stew!

Please Leave a Reply

