Goodbye 2014

images (9)

Having just read my Goodbye 2013 post I thought I had better get cracking on this years seeing as though we only have 9 hours left. So here are the highs and some lows of 2014 for The Williams.

My amazing 40th birthday cake

My amazing 40th birthday cake

I turned the big 40 back in January. My husband did me proud and made me feel like a princess. The highlights included a Limo filled with my friends, meal with family and friends which included a magician and an amazing Disney Castle cake, Spa day with just me and the hubs, weekend at Centerparcs, weekend just me and the hubs in an amazing lodge nestled in the forest in York. Its safe to say January was bloody fantastic !

We visited one of our favourite holiday parks up in Scotland in April and August. Whilst we were there in August, son turned 12, 1 year to go to the teenage years ! Though I think he has been practising for them for the past 18 months.

Me in Corfu

Me in Corfu

Continuing the theme of holidays, this year was the first year in 4 we had not gone to Disneyworld Florida. Our close friends were getting married in Corfu, and we had a wonderful week there at the end of July. We all loved being part of a large group on holiday, and the kids were never bored. We stayed in a stunning hotel with a swim up room, and we would love to return one day.

We have had some fantastic days out which have included London on the train, Alton Towers and Chessington. Having had our Merlin Annual Passes for 3 years we decided not to renew them this year. Lets see if we can live without them.

Our newly decorated living room

Our newly decorated living room

After hubby getting a bonus back in March we decided to decorate our living room. After being in our house for 14 years this was the one room that needed doing again. So glad we did it, as certainly brightens up the room where we spend most of our time.

We have survived another year of parenting. Though the start of the year was somewhat challenging as the hormones kicked in with our son. Its certainly a learning curve living with a tween, but family life never stands still and is always changing.

Indoor sky diving at Airkix

Indoor sky diving at Airkix

The kids continue to do us proud. They show no fear and showed how brave they were doing a huge zip wire when we were in Scotland. Son has also enjoyed indoor sky diving too.

Me and hubs have enjoyed some great times together seeing John Newman, Russell Kane, Ideal Home Show and meeting my idol Martin Lewis ! We always try and have at least 1 night out a month to be ‘us’.

I have also had some great times with my closest friends which have included meals out, afternoon tea, and a night away at Cottons Hotel in Knutsford.

Centerparcs Woburn Forest

Centerparcs Woburn Forest

Another highlight of the year was back in May when I got a text from my best friend inviting me to Centerparcs Woburn Forest BEFORE it opened. An amazing few days was had by us and our 3 daughters. It was amazing to see Woburn Forest before it opened to the general public, and I shall be forever grateful to my bestie for inviting me.

I recently blogged about the fantastic Christmas we had going away in a lodge up near the lakes.

Looking back we have had another great year which seems to be centered around our holidays ! I am sure our holidays will again feature in the review of 2015, as we have our first one to look forward to in 16 days.

Some of the sad moments included our beloved budgie dying in September. It hit us all hard especially our son.

I think the greatest thing about 2014 is my 90 year old nan is still with us. A few days into 2014 we were told she had hours to live. Well nearly a year later she is still with us, and has recently gone into a lovely nursing home.

I am sure there are many moments I have forgotten to mention, but hope you have enjoyed reading what we have been up to this year. We are still blessed with fantastic family and friends, and I have to give a special mention to my mum and step dad who have agreed to babysit tonight !!! Yep we have our first pass out for New Years Eve in 13 years, and looking forward to celebrating later with friends. Have a great 2015.

securedownload (38)

Please Leave a Reply

